Wicked Wonderland In a Bind
Normalcy my ass
09.09.04 - 9:53 pm

Today i joined a new team. The ultimate frizbee team. It was a good practice, other than being a lil nervous... and not really expecting what was going to happen. I didn't do too bad. I'm good at back hand throwing and allright at catching.

It's just yesterday i ran, and i hurt my knee pretty badly. By the middle of practice i was hobbling and i felt horrible for it. I was complaining infront of these girls i don't even know. i just felt like i wasn't acting like a true player.

I'm taking a special education class this semester, and it's made me more aware of people w/ disabilities. I just have a knee injury, and already my room mate said to me ," It's ok, i'll wait for you considering your crippled." She was saying it in jest, but still, this is temporary... what if it was permanent?

I've been injured before, with my shoulders and back, but this is different. This enables me to be up to par with everyone else, all the "normal" people.

All day i've tried so hard not to look like i was limping. It hurt so bad trying to disguise it. I also felt bad for holding my room mate up because i couldn't walk as fast as she did. The guilt of something like that amazed me, and also the embarassement that came with it.

Heh, wow, and i thought i actually wouldn't put my knowledge from class into real life situations.

I haven't been in a shell that's hidden me from people w/ disablities, we all have some form of something. Social angxiety, learning disablities, some mental angst... it just is shocking that there's so many disorders out there, and yet we still consider ourselves all normal.

Some normalcy.

chez

previous next