Wicked Wonderland In a Bind
The Cat and the Mouse
07.14.02 - 7:18 pm

I was at a 3 day swim meet... i didn't post that cuz i forgot about it ^^;; so here is the low down of the meet....

Ok. Friday. Best day of the meet. Why? Cuz i dropped a whole f*cking minute in my 1500. Best swim of my life. Felt like sh*t after wards... but eh? Who wouldn't!! You gotta be thinking... ah... a minute.. that isn't too hard. If you think that... you're a f*cking idiot. Swimming is like no other sport. You actually have to train to be the best. You can have talent. But you also have to be inshape. Foot ball.. all you gotta do is run and get a ball. Same for soccer. Baseball... running and some upper body invovled there. I'm not say Swimming is the best sport. It's far from it. I love it, but it's the hardest sport. It's similar to track and crosscountry. But that's all running!! Swimming... you CAN'T be afraid of the water... you have to practice every day or lose everything w/ in a week... you have to weight train... do meditation... pilatee's(sp?) the ballet thing, yoga too!! The only sports that are close to swimming... is dancing and gymastics. I did both. You gotta be limber and you have to have dedication. I love to watch highschool meets. You know that these ppl aren't yr round swimmers. All they can swim is 50's(2 laps)!! That's it. I'm a distance swimmer. I hate 50's. But everyone can swim it. No one could swim a 500(20 laps) or a 1500. For a 1500, that's 60 laps. See a difference??

My time was for longcource meters... was 20:27.33 to a 19:30.86 Not eactly a minute... but hell i'm only off 3 seconds. OH... and i gotta tell you about the ppl i was swimming...

Ok, i go up to the blocks and wait for my event. i'm swimming w/ another member of my team named, Katie. I go over w/ Katie and talk and i look at the heat sheet(list of names and lane assignments) Dear god. I was racing a bunch of f'ing kids. 13 yr olds. and one 15 yr old, and katie a 17 yr old. You have no idea how old i felt. 5 yrs old than these kids. Geez!! So, i look around and i'm like... I'm going to have the greatest mind game of my life. Cat and Mouse game. I felt like a cat but declawed, cuz i new i'd get 'em but not eat them.. only play w/ 'em. I got so pumped cuz i have yrs and experience over these kids. So, i got my ego back... and started joking around w/ katie until our race came up. When it did, got on the blocks, and dove in when the starter sounded. I went out slow... i was last for the first 100(4laps) Then i picked it up. I was the cat... and all of 'em were the mice ^_^ I picked them off one by one. Except... this one 13 yr old in the next lane. I went out to slow then i went out way too fast... i knew i did... but i wasn't going to back down. So i got near the girl's feet ( i am in a different lane btw) and i stayed there... for the whole f'ing swim. I couldn't pass her!! But the time the last lap rolled around i was soo tired and hurting.. i just gave up on the girl. She had at least 3 or 4 body lengths a head of me at that pt. I struggled to get to the other end of the pool. I beat everyother kid, but one. The Mouse (as i call the girl) got away. I'll get her next yr *evil grin* The Cat has not finished the game yet. Then i'll be 19. I will be basically be an illegal person swimming... cuz the age limit is 18, but i am allowed and my time will count.

*sighs* That swim took everything out of me for the rest of the meet. I dropped some time in my other free events... but that was it. As for Breast stroke... oh dear god... i am so tired of it at this pt. I'm not dropping any time... nothing. I couldn't even make my Nat's cut. ;_; ah well. i'm not too disappointed. I just thought that this yr would be my greatest cuz i figured i'd drop time. But i haven't. At all. I don't know what i'm gonna do next yr for college. They need breast strokers... and i'm flat. And i don't want to consider myself a freestyler cuz everone is... I just don't know what to do...

Well... i'm gonna finish up my 4 hr nap... i had to wake up for dinner... argh. I'm not going to be able to sleep tonight... and i have to go to practice. ;_; oh dear god... it's not going to be pretty tomorrow...

We ArE aLl MaD hErE...

~Chez

ps. in amish country... all you can smell is horse/cow poo and hay... you don't know how glad i was when i walked beside the pool and smelled chlorine!!

previous next