Wicked Wonderland In a Bind
the devil is swimming in my tea
07.11.02 - 11:16 pm

Well today. The kid i hated the most earned my respect today. Why?? Heh. oh wow...

The kids name is Stephen. But pronounced Steven oO;; He's the cutest kid in all of camp. He's 6 short and has eyes that twinkle. But. He's a terror on two legs.

Today, i was teaching lessons and i had to take someone elses lessons cuz they weren't there. And Stephen was in that class. I teamed up w/ my suporvisor(Tommy) to do a saftey day. Talked about sunscreen and lifejackets.. all that good jaz. So! Stephen hops into Tommy's lap. And starts throwing his head backwards in Tommy's chest. It's Tommy's turn to talk, but he can't cuz of Stephen. I take him out of Tommy's lap, and he does the same thing to me. Except it's right in the top of my chest. I didn't wanna get hurt... so i tried to put him in a lose head lock. Just to make him stop. Well, i got one arm thru.. but the other didn't in time. His head goes right in to my lip. got a busted lip. A lil blood not much... some swelling. Teeth hurt like hell.... So i take Stephen to my other suporvisor to watch him and to talk to him about doing such things while i get ice.

Now why should i gain respect for him, when he hurt me? Well, it made me realize that life is a game for Stephen. For goodness sakes. He's just a kid. I didn't get mad at him, it just hurt like a mother.

The kid maybe a devil child... but he didn't mean to. He got hurt too.. some what.. it's been a long time since i've worked w/ kids that act like they are 3. And he's one of 'em.

No more yelling at this kid. Nice tone of voice and ask him several times to make sure he gets it.

Geez.. i feel like i'm a mother already... if you ever work at a camp... it's the best birth control pill you ever will have.

~Chez

previous next