Wicked Wonderland In a Bind
Wicked is being Wicked to me
11.26.04 - 10:00 pm

I just finished the book Wicked by Gregory Maguire and i am utterly confused.

It's a book about the Wicked Witch of the West's life instead of Dorthey's from Wizard of Oz.

It's political, religious, and satirical... but at the end of the book there are these Reader Guide questions, to make you think about the iconography and other important events through out the book.

Only thing is, they don't give the answers.

I read books not to become an intellectual, but to read, for the sake of reading.

It's like tv. I read books like i watch tv. I see the images in my head, i have my own images as to what the characters look like, yadda yadda yadda.

This was a difficult reading for me. I can't tell you the significance of Elphalba's (Witch) green skin. I can't tell you why Galinda changed her name to Glinda, i can tell you where she got Glinda, but not the sygnificance of it.

I'm searching online like a mad women trying to find all the answers.

There's no discussions about it! None!

I find reviews and what not. But nothing that pertains to these questions in the back of the book.

It's like the god damned book is laughing at me.

It's utterly disturbing.

That thing is hidding under my bed tonight.

This book is a good book, i recommend it, but it's for one that has the stomach for the political and religious under takings.

This is no children's book written when the author was high.

Or was that Alice in Wonderland (can't remember the true title)... that's one book i do have to read.

Forget this, i'm going to get into my alcohol and forget this. My head hurts because of a leisurely reading book.

Not cool.

chez

previous next